If You Are What You Eat Then I’m in Big Trouble

Today, it’s 90 degrees in the DC area!! Spring has finally sprung!! Flip-flop season is here… well at least for the next few days!! I’m totally stoked to drop that coat like a bad habit.  It’s something about warm weather that makes the world just a little bit better. At least in my little cray-cray mind!

My half marathon training is going well <pat myself on the back>. I’m have been really enjoying my last couple of runs.  The past couple of weeks of have really noticed that the no booze from lent has really help my endurance for the long runs. I have been playing around with my diet also. I have been doing a lot of reading about what type of food fuel  short runs, long runs and how often to eat. 

One theme is that you should eat 3 to 4 hours to maintain steady blood sugar and muscle glycogen levels.  Glycogen, the stored form of the carbohydrate-derivative glucose, is an essential aspect of the ability of the body to generate fuel for both athletic and sedentary activities. The main storage are a for glycogen are within the liver and the skeletal muscles; approximately twice as much glycogen is stored in the muscles as is retained in the liver. (Real techie right 🙂 ) .  My takeaways

  1. Consume complex carbs before your run and simple carbs afterward
  2. the food you eat the night before fuels your muscles, the food you eat the day of your run fuels your brain, which helps your performance
  3. After a Run “The most important timed meal is the reloading meal, which happens within 30 minutes of finishing a workout, . You should aim for a 100- to 300-calorie snack that’s about 80% simple carbohydrates and 20% protein.

The perfect after run snack most of the articles suggest is chocolate milk. So how did I interpret it?

 icecream

Chocolate milk and chocolate Ice cream are the same thing right?   Don’t judge me, I like living on the wild side! What is your favorite go to after run meal?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

