I Won! I Won!!!

Happy Friday! I hope everyone is having an awesome day!! The weather is great here in DC. I’m going to meet a friend on the patio to catch up and enjoy life!

In my last post, I told you that I had some AWESOME news to tell you. I Won! I Won!!! I won a free registration for the 3rd annual Run for the Dream. The Wicked Healthy Washington had a free registration giveaway and she picked me!!!! Let me tell you, I was on cloud nine all last weekend.  Not only did I win the registration, but the proceeds support two great organizations.

The first organization is Achievable Dream.  “Achievable Dream is a nonprofit, year-round, extended day public school borne out of its founder’s belief that all children can learn and succeed regardless of their socioeconomic backgrounds; and that education can break the cycle of poverty. In partnership with Newport News Public Schools, Achievable Dream strive to close the achievement gap that currently exists in American education to ensure our students become productive citizens contributing positively to society.”  Here is a video that talks about the organization. It  is a little lengthy but so worth watching.

For several years, I was a mentor, tutor, and volunteer. I know firsthand the success stories that organizations like Achievable Dreams have in communities. These organizations can literally change the trajectory of a child, a neighborhood, or a community. If you are interested to learn how you can help Achievable Dream or more about the organization click here. If you are interested in running the Run For the Dream race, you can click here. It’s not too late to sign up.

The second organization is Wounded Warriors. “The Achilles Freedom Team of Wounded Veterans is a program founded in 2004 for veterans disabled in the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. Warfighter Sports, a program of Disabled Sports USA, offers sports rehabilitation programs for severely wounded warriors in military hospitals and communities across the U.S. through a nationwide network of over 100 community-based chapters. Paralyzed Veterans Racing is a team of competitive para-cyclists. “2

I serve on the local Army Advisory Board for the DC metro area. Let me tell you, it has been the most rewarding experience I have up to date. The subject matter that we discuss on ways to help the veteran committee is pretty intense.  But to give back to these communities who have done so much for our country, it is so worth time, effort, and commitment.

The super bonus..wait for it… the race is in historic Wiliamsburg, Va.. The race begins on the campus of William & Mary and goes through the Historic Area of Colonial Williamsburg and ends at William and Mary’s Zable Stadium!  Does it get any better for my First Half Marathon!!!  Thank you again Wicked Healthy Washington for picking me. Also check out her blog and give her some bloglove here.  Her blog rocks!! Have a great weekend!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Won! I Won!!!

  1. Hey! Congrats on winning a race entry. That’s sweet. Goodluck training!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

